Tarsem Singh returns to the cinema with the Indian project ‘Dear Jassi’ News-thread


“The Cell” director Tarsem Singh returns to feature films with “Dear Jassi,” his first Indian project.

The film completed a 50-day schedule in Punjab, North India, and is heading to Canada for a two-week shoot. Post-production will take place in Montreal.

Plot details are secret, except that it is based on a true story. Cast details have also not been revealed at this time.

The movie is written by Amit Rai (“Oh My God 2”).

“It’s my passion project and I think this is the right time for the world to see it,” Singh said. “Such a strong story needs to be told.”

Singh made his feature directorial debut with the Oscar-nominated film “The Cell” (2000), starring Jennifer Lopez. He then directed the Berlin-winning “The Fall” (2006), starring Lee Pace; Immortals (2011), with Henry Cavill, Mickey Rourke and John Hurt; the Oscar nominee “Mirror Mirror” (2012) with Julia Roberts and Lily Collins; and “Self/less” (2015) starring Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley.

The filmmaker, who also directed the NBC series “Emerald City,” is famous for his commercials and music videos for Lady Gaga, Deep Forest, and REM.

“Dear Jassi” is filmed by Brendan Galvin (“Plane”). It is produced by Bhushan Kumar for leading Indian studio T-Series, Vipul D. Shah, Ashwin Varde and Rajesh Bahl for Wakaoo Films, Sanjay Grover for Creative Strokes Group and Singh.

Kumar said, “This is our first foray into mainstream international cinema and we are delighted with the experience.”

Shah spoke about watching Singh “weave his magic on set”, with Varde describing the project as “an extraordinary subject directed by an extraordinary director”, and Bahl praising the director’s “spectacular” vision.

Grover, who was previously at MGM, added: “Producing my first film with a director like Tarsem who I love and partnering with visionary producers like T-Series and Wakaoo Films is really very exciting.”

“Dear Jassi” will be released worldwide in mid-2023.

Pictured from left to right: Ashwin Varde, Sanjay Grover, Rajesh Bahl, Bhushan Kumar, Vipul D. Shah. Sitting: Tarsem Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here